SETH: Premiere for a new song on Rock Overdose! 14/05/2013   16:05


French black metallers SETH will release their fifth full-length “The Howling Spirit” on June 7th, 2013 by Season Of Mist, after the band mysteriously disappeared following the release of "Era-Decay" (2004).  

You may here their new song "One Ear To The Earth,One Eye On Heaven" on Rock Overdose!

A few words about SETH

The French combine the harsh and sinister sound of their country's current Black Metal movement with an unerring sense for the atmospheric and melodic. While opening up to modern structures, SETH remain true their roots as embodied by legendary debut album "Les Blessures de l’Ame" (1998), which was greeted with great enthusiasm upon its release and successfully reissued by Season of Mist in 2012. SETH were founded during the year 1995 in the French city of Bordeaux, famous for its red wines. A first demo, "Apocalyptic Desires" (1996), was followed by the EP "By Fire, Power Shall Be..." (1997). While these early releases established SETH firmly in the Black Metal underground, their debut "Les Blessures de l’Ame" brought the Bordelais to the forefront of the extreme French Metal scene. These pioneers of darkness followed up with "The Excellence" (2000), which featured numerous prestigious collaborations including Fenriz (DARKTHRONE).

Their international status became evident when SETH were invited to contribute to the legendary "Originators of the Northern Darkness – A Tribute to Mayhem" (2001) compilation. In 2002 SETH recorded their third album "Divine X", which scored top rank reviews in many magazines. With a revised line up featuring new members Cyriex and Black Messiah, SETH released the mature "Era Decay" (2004), which was followed by a prolonged hiatus between the years 2005 and 2011. To the surprise of their loyal adherents, SETH performed an exclusive show in Germany co-headlining with the legendary BETHLEHEM before heralding "The Howling Spirit" for more celebrated live appearances. “The Howling Spirit” sees SETH ready to reclaim their rightful throne as the kings of French Black Metal!

1. In Aching Agony
2. Killing My Eyes
3. One Ear to the Earth, One Eye on Heaven
4. Howling Prayers (Act I)
5. He Whose Heart Is Heavy with Sin
6. Ten Barrels (A Scourge for the World, a Plague for His Soul) [bonus track]
7. Scars Born from Bleeding Stars
8. Howling Prayers (Act II) [bonus track]
9. Mort-luisant
10. Dicing with Death

Black Messiah: vocals
Alsvid: drums
Heimoth: guitar
Cyriex: guitar
Eguil: bass